Karen’s Pick of the Week: An Unforgiving Place by Claire Kells

According to Pulitzer Prize winner Mary Schmich “Reading is a discount ticket to everywhere.”  Many readers travel vicariously through books.  Perhaps you have dreamt of visiting the rugged wilderness of Alaska.  This is the setting of An Unforgiving Place by Claire Kells, the second book in the National Parks Mystery series.

The Gates of the Arctic National Park is the remotest National Park in the United States. Full of vast bare valleys, dense brush, wet sponga, rivers, lakes, mountains, wolves, and bears it is both breathtakingly majestic and dangerous.  Most people who go missing in the park are never found. When two corpses are spotted on the Alatna River ISB agent Felicity Harland  and her ex- Navy Seal partner Hux are flown in to investigate.

Due to a missing person report the agents can deduce the identity of the bodies, a couple that flew in to the wilderness over a month ago to find an off the grid survivalist, Zane Reynolds, known  through the internet as a fertility expert.  As the park rangers and the plane return back to the nearest town, Felicity and Hux stay to look for a camp site and the elusive Zane.   With only the gear they can carry on their backs they set out for a long trek hoping to find something before the daylight disappears and the clues go cold.

This suspenseful mystery even has a touch of romance.  Felicity and Hux work very well as a team. This is a series I would like to continue reading. Recommended for fans of Paul Doiron and Adriana Anders.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.