Karen’s pick of the week: The Golden Couple by  Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

Avery Chambers, ex-therapist gone rogue, uses her own ten step program for her clients.  “Golden” wife Marissa wants Avery to help keep her marriage alive as she tells her “Golden” husband Robert about an affair.   When these three characters come together the mystery and suspense begin in The Golden Couple by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen, a riveting novel of deception and murder.

Beautiful Marissa wants to come clean, but she still holds on to secrets and lies.  When she starts receiving anonymous notes and flowers, she thinks she knows who is sending them. Handsome Robert appears to be the injured party in the whole scenario, trying to forgive his wife.  When a beating lands him in the hospital, his wife nearly goes crazy with worry.  He is keeping secrets too.

 Avery is an engrossing character, a study in contrasts, hard yet empathetic.  She follows her own code of ethics, which sometimes puts her and her loved ones in danger. As the ten therapy sessions progress, she takes on the role of private investigator, invading the lives of her clients and digging for the truth. Through a series of twists and turns the reader learns EVERYTHING about this outwardly perfect couple.  


Although The Golden Couple appears to be a stand-alone novel, this reader (who listened to the audiobook at libro.fm) would love to see it become the first in a series, more Avery please!  This page-turner would be a good fit for fans of Gillian Flynn or Paula Hawkins. 

Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.